Consultant vs "Expert"

1 Reply

I like to pay for what I get, nothing more, nothing less. 

Knowing what needs to be done hasn't always been easy, still sometimes need help even 20yrs in.

I don't just hire a plumber to come repair a broken sewer line, I make sure I get a camera down there first. To see whats happening for myself. I don't distrust others, I just like to know as much as I can. That means I am paying a bit more sometimes, some may call it a waste; I call it knowledge. 

In that vein I don't understand signing an exclusive contract w/ a realtor (not even if they exclusive to me. I can't have my success based on another persons efforts, or lack there of.) I would prefer to hand a realtor some cash and say, "Go find me this." They know they aren't wasting their time, and thus will likely actually work.

I am a accredited inspector for residential and multifamily, but I still hire an inspector to look over deals I am buying, for myself. I am not perfect, so I want another expert to review my work. Its saved me dozens of times equaling thousands and thousands of dollars saved.

People tend to "hire an expert" but then don't gain any of the knowledge they could acquire via that relationship.

I dont' like the word "mentor" in this business, as I have stated many times, but "Consultant" is dandy. You know what you are paying for and what they are getting for helping. No mystery or bullsh*t. Just facts, knowledge, and a set fee.

Regarding exclusive contracts: It matters per situation. For buyer's I don't require them. I just ask that you are honest and straight up. With sellers I now require them no matter what - I don't help with anything until the contract is signed. I have learned from my own mistakes.

I am more old-school, believe people on their word and believe I give a fair deal. Trust and honesty in working relationships is a big deal to me, and used to give more chances though now I am less lenient.