Business Cards - Is it okay to use non real estate related cards?

6 Replies

Hi all,

This may come across as a dumb question but I figured I would ask anyway... I am new to REI and just graduated college in January. Before I graduated, I made a bunch of business cards that corresponded with my school and major so that when I went to different conferences and networking events I could give them to potential employers. My question is now that I am done with school (since graduated received a job) would it be wrong or not make sense to use these same cards when I go to different REI events/meet ups? I don't have a business in place yet for REI and don't plan on creating one until I'm ready to start actively investing. I know I'm probably over thinking it but I would love to get some feedback or advice.

Thanks,

Kevin

Two thoughts: Spend the $9 on Vista print. The card is the way they will remember you. You want them to remember you as a real estate investor, not a recent college grad.
Second, one can survive quite well now without cards. Ask for their cell number and text them your contact info and what you are interested in doing. 
Are you planning to wholesale? That's one place where maybe having a card would be useful.

You’re over thinking. However business cards are cheap so why not have a specific real estate card. It could include your education and what type investing your specialized in. This would show a certain level of commitment to what you do. But at the end of the day it’s a card with your name and phone number on it. If it is well designed and looks professional it will probably work.

I'm planning on doing a buy and hold strategy @Amanda G. . The only reason I am bringing this up is because I have so many of those cards left and I paid a good amount to make them very well designed and professional. You make a great point though. Thanks!