Newbie Business Plan for Buy and Hold Rental Cleveland Ohio

13 Replies

Hi!

I am sorry if this is annoying to ask, but I am a complete newbie and for now I am relying on this community to be my mentor. In short i would like to buy my first multi-family rental in the next 6-18 months. With a 16 month old child and one on the way in July I don't see any sooner feasible. Not to mention I am not at all ready, no not analysis paralysis. I have only just begun my homework and made this decision a couple weeks ago.

This is my first pass at my business plan. Please let me know what you think, feel free to critique, and let me know if I am missing any thing that is important. Thanks in advance for your help!

Side note: My wife and I's investment career  will be ran on the side of our full time jobs as supplemental income on our road to financial freedom. 

Real Estate Business Plan

Goal:

In the next 5-10 years buy and hold 8-10 rental properties or until resulting in about $2000 in passive rental income. At minimum $100 cashflow per door. Return on investment to be determined, but COCROI preferably over the stock market average.

Buying our first property within 6-18 months.

What types of Properties will we invest in:

Duplex, Triplex, Quads, to begin. Possibly trading up for small apartment buildings if it makes sense and opportunities are available. Would like to avoid single home rentals due to the hassle of buying, insuring, and managing one unit, but not opposed to it if there is a great opportunity.

Would like to focus on properties that need at least some work to receive a good purchase price. Also, the ability to force appreciate would be preferable to build up some equity.

Where?

Suburbs of Cleveland. More Analysis to come, but while starting out B cities or possibly on the boarder of B/C cities taken case by case.

How?

Down Payment will come from the equity on our primary residence and possibly some cash depending on how much saved. Putting 20-25% down.