The last laugh. My 2 cents about investing.

61 Replies

My day job is for a paper company. I'm a salaried manager and I've been working here for 33 years. A few years ago me and my wife started buying rental property so we could retire a few years earlier than we normally would have been able to. We aren't in this for a quick buck but look forward to a steady second income stream. We have bought one house a year for the past 3 years and we have the means and motivation to continue this practice for years to come. We live well beneath our means and save money so we can keep buying houses. Nothing remarkable here. If we can do it, anyone can.

This brings me to the point of writing this post. A few weeks ago, the company I used to work for offered a lump sum buyout of the pension I have with them. All of the managers I currently work with used to work for this company before our division was sold to another company. During a meeting we had to discuss the various options we could choose from one of the managers (that I have never got along with) made a comment in front of the group about how he wanted to hear from Alan about how to buy rent houses

(I'm not planning to use this lump sum buyout to buy property. I plan to invest it in a self directed IRA.).