Wholesaling and flipping condos.

2 Replies

I'm a newbie. I've never done any deals but have recently come across a 1 bedroom condo. The area is nice and the property needs a bit of work (not a complete disaster but more than just paint). Is it possible to wholesale condos or to BRRRR them? I think it has BRRRR potential but again, I'm a newbie. I'm figuring that the ARV on the property is about $37,000 and may need about $8,000-$10,000 worth of repairs.

Hi @John Hilliard and welcome to BiggerPockets!

I get it: The appeal of condos is that they are cheap. At least they appear to be. Heck, my first two deals were condos!

But, condos are generally not ideal for BRRRR and here are three reasons why:

1. You have ZERO control of your destiny - In condo-land, the association board is king. They have the power to raise your monthly dues by, say, $100 (thereby killing your cash flow). They can also, for example, levy a $3,000 special assessment against every condo member to repave the parking lot (thereby depleting your reserves). And worse, they can decide one day that members can no longer rent their units freely (thereby putting you out of business.)
  2. Condos are hard to (re-)finance - A key part of the BRRRR strategy is the refinance. Problem is, very few lenders are interested in underwriting properties under $100K, and those that do often charge a premium. Also, FHA has minimum standards that a condo association must meet, and many do not. So, if yours doesn't make the cut, then that particular funding avenue would be completely closed to you, and to any buyer you might seek down the road when you are ready to get this turkey property off your hands!