Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Chris Schorre
  • Investor
  • AUSTIN, TX
Votes |
Use home equity or use bank loan to purchase single family house?

Chris Schorre
  • Investor
  • AUSTIN, TX
Posted Jun 28 2019, 13:42

Hi everyone, total newbie here...my first post. I am looking to purchase a single family home in Austin Texas for about $500K and then rent our existing home (also in Austin) - which we can net cash flow about $1,000/month. We have about $900K in equity on our current home and roughly $150K in liquid cash. So, my question is what financing option should we explore to buy the second $500k home? Bank financing with 20% down? Or home equity loan on primary home? We both have excellent credit of 810+.  After we buy the $500k home (which will become our primary residence), we do plan to buy more rental properties in Austin. Appreciate the advice. 

User Stats

Votes
Replied Jun 28 2019, 15:08

Bank loan of course, tax deductible.  

User Stats

Votes
Jordan Moorhead
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Austin, TX
Replied Jun 28 2019, 18:45

@Chris Schorre bank loan and you don't need to put that much down. Check out keller mortgage and they'll cover half of your closing costs too

The Moorhead Team Logo
NREIG  logo
NREIG
|
Sponsored
Customizable insurance coverage with a program that’s easy to use Add, edit, and remove properties from your account any time with no minimum-earned premiums.

User Stats

Votes
Jerry Padilla
Lender
#5 Classifieds Contributor
  • Lender
  • Rochester, NY
Votes |
Lender
#5 Classifieds Contributor
  • Lender
  • Rochester, NY
Replied Jun 28 2019, 21:49

@Chris Schorre

An underwriter will question why are you going from a property valued at over $900k to $500k? 

You don’t have to answer here, just know you will be questioned.