How to develop relationships with Sellers when you have a realtor

7 Replies

Hello all,

I am a newbie investor and have heard a lot about direct mail marketing and building relationships with sellers but how does one go about this when you have a real estate agent?

Thanks in advance for the insight! 

Anjali, Chicago

Having a realtor means you have him do the legwork for you. You hire a real estate agent because of the networking power he has already garnered and his experience. That way he might end up getting you a great deal on a house that fits the specifications you outlined. You could try looking for deals on your own in which case you would have to cut out the middle man and directly engage the sellers yourself. 

Good Luck!

Originally posted by @Account Closed :

Hello all,

I am a newbie investor and have heard a lot about direct mail marketing and building relationships with sellers but how does one go about this when you have a real estate agent?

There are 2 ways to work with real estate agents, USE THEM, or really make them a part of your team.  The USE method is why many agents won't work with investors.  The investors ask for a ton of information & effort from the agent with no return for the agent.  

Really making them part of your team means being respectful of their time and ensuring there's a return for their investment of time & the information they provide.  Using your example:  If you want to do a direct mail campaign an agent may help you with areas to target.  You then execute the campaign and receive some responses from sellers.  An agent that is part of your team may provide you with information, such as sales or rent comparables, contracts,....  whatever you need to close the deal.  An agent that is part of your team must be compensated.