Votes
Sean Laird
  • Gulfport, MS
Votes |
Good Banks for BRRRR refi in Memphis, TN

Sean Laird
  • Gulfport, MS
Posted Aug 18 2019, 15:15

So I'm just starting out trying to do BRRRR in the Memphis, TN area. I'm doing a pretty good job of building a team but I have yet to find a loan partner for the cash-out refi. Any advice or recommendations from those experienced with this sort of investing in this area. I've noticed a lot of the buildings are older so my current bank has been reluctant to get involved.

Any help, thoughts and ideas are greatly appreciated

User Stats

Votes
Nasir El Ameer
  • Lender
  • Los Angeles
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Los Angeles
Replied Aug 18 2019, 17:21

@Sean Laird

Banks will usually have a seasoning requirement to do a cahsout refi based on the new value after rehab.

Seasoning requirement is usually one year of ownership.

If you work with an alternative source you can get a cashout refi after 30 days of ownership based on the new value after rehab.

Banks will take longer to do the deal may offer a low rate but not the best terms.

Alternative source offer more flexible loans and rates vary based on loan type, ltv, dscr, credit, but they dont require tax returns.

User Stats

Votes
Stephen Akindona
  • Investor
  • Memphis, TN
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Memphis, TN
Replied Aug 19 2019, 20:27

@Nasir El Ameer makes a great point here! A cash out is very different from the delayed financing exception. You can use your own cash to buy a house renovate it, and then refi all your investment capital back out but it is not a cash out refi. If you put the renovation cost on the settlement statement you are able to use the delayed financing exception to buy and renovate and then refinance out your investment capital without any seasoning.