What questions should I ask potential property managers?

4 Replies

Hi all!

I’m new to investing and hoping to get in on my first deal by the end of next year. Looking into by and holds for rent. Preferably multi family units. The market I’m in is a little pricey. I’m looking to buy outside of my local areas. I will definitely be looking for property management. Is there anything in particular I should ask when vetting potential management companies? And should I be looking to find a property manager before even finding my first deal?

Thanks in advance for the help!

How do you handle late paying tenants and what would the eviction process look like?  Standard fee, maintenance markups, release up fees, When do owners get paid, what is the best way to communicate with the PM company, will I have one main contact person, how do you screen tenants and what is the qualification process for them.

I am sure there are more.

Good luck
Originally posted by @Bryan Teitzman :

Hi all!

I’m new to investing and hoping to get in on my first deal by the end of next year. Looking into by and holds for rent. Preferably multi family units. The market I’m in is a little pricey. I’m looking to buy outside of my local areas. I will definitely be looking for property management. Is there anything in particular I should ask when vetting potential management companies? And should I be looking to find a property manager before even finding my first deal?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Hello Bryan, below are some of the questions that I think you should ask your property manager: 

Do you mark up maintenance and repairs

What does your screening process look like?

Do you charge any fees if the unit is vacant?

What are your management fees?

What is the best way to communicate with your team and what options do I have?

If I want to cancel my management agreement do I have to pay any fees?

How do you determine the rent amount?

How do you market vacant units?