Is college worth it?

3 Replies

I am a full time college freshman and just got my real estate license 2 months ago. Just 2 days ago I joined the team of one of the top 250 real estate agents in the US so I definitely see a busy future ahead of me. Low key, college is starting to feel a tiny bit like a scam because of all the required courses I need to take that have nothing to do with my major (currently marketing) and costs a crap ton of money. I don't really see myself being a college student for the next 4 years either. Obviously right now I don't want to continue college because I would much rather focus 100% on real estate, though I am scared I will regret it in the future even though I am pretty sure I can be successful without a degree. So my question is, is 4 more years of not focusing 100% on real estate worth it for a degree? If so, what should I major in? Eventually I want to be a real estate investor and flip houses so I am definitely interested in something like construction but I feel like it is better to have on-the-job experience rather than spend 4 years getting a construction management degree, especially since I want my own company. What other majors would teach me what Chip and Joanna from Fixer Upper do? Thanks in advance for the advice.