Starting out from abroad

6 Replies

Hi guys,

I've been following BP for some time now and often thought about investing in America. I'm currently in Scotland, UK, however I've previously lived in Georgia and have been to many states. 

I'm looking to start investing in America so I can build up an income that may allow me to love there on a more permanent basis. 

I've been investing in UK since 2002 and have a small portfolio here. Although the strategies in both countries are similar the execution and management seem to quite different. 

Can you help me find out where I should start in my international investment journey?

What professionals should I be speaking with and what are the best places to set up an LLC for the investing?

Any other advice is welcome. 

Thanks in advance.

Stephen

@Stephen Nulty

Hi Stephen! 

Before you begin your overseas investing journey, the first thing to do would probably be to seek professional legal advice from an international or real estate attorney State side. Let me know if you need help connecting with someone there, but if you already have someone that's great!

Having said that a State that offers some benefits for setting up an LLC would be Delaware. Delaware does not tax out of state income for foreign LLCs. Delaware also offers lower fees in setting up an LLC and has a separate court for hearing business cases that can make things faster (Chancery Court).

Numerous people State side set up LLCs in the State of Delaware for these reasons, taxes and low fees. 

Another perk to Delaware is that due to so many people setting up their LLCs here, the process is pretty fast and streamlined.

To start this you can simply go to the State of Delaware's site and use the links there or use one of the various LLC set up services online that is US based- you may however have a yearly fee from $100-$500 USD to maintain this LLC as you're setting it up as international.

Hope this helps! 

Hi Anna,

Yes it does.