Tampa/Lakeland Area Investors out there?

25 Replies

Hi!  I'm new to Bigger Pockets.  We just moved to Lakeland FL and I work in Tampa as an interior designer.  We have one rental in Jacksonville FL and are waiting on the Rental assistance program to kick in for our tenant who hasn't paid her rent in about 5 months.  Once the money comes in I am trying to decide if I should either sell that property and start over (I'll have about 90-100k) to possibly buy two properties, or should I go ahead and do a cash out refi and keep the property.  I am working on applying for section 8 for the property right now thinking that may be easier than eviction for this current tenant who is not paying.  Would love thoughts and would also like to know if there are any Tampa/Lakeland people in here?  Thanks!

You always lose long-term when you sell while building a cash flow portfolio in real estate, especially Florida. Never sale.
Do reverse engineer to figure out the most cash you could pull out of the property and pull it. How do you know what the most money you should pull out is? Do a rental stress test on the property, figure out the maximum mortgage payment you can do, considering a more competitive rental market in the future where rents go down 30% lower as a worth case scenario. Then rinse and repeat the process!

Hey Carley, I'm local to the area. I used to work in Lakeland at Geico and my wife has family in Lakeland. We are right outside of Tampa now and loving it. 

With the new zoning laws passed in CA, I would suggest holding onto any and all real estate you own in Florida. Definitely make sure the numbers work for the refinance, but my gut instinct would be to hold onto that property and continue to ride the appreciation wave.