Can I purchase an LLC that owns the REO property? Any advice?

13 Replies

Hello BPers,

I am a newbie and just venturing into the REO flipping business. Needless to say, I'm a bit nervous and can use some advice.

I am purchasing my first REO property from a wholesaler. However, the wholesaler is suggesting that I purchase the LLC that owns the REO property so we can speed things up and avoid double closings. If I purchase the LLC and remove the current single member on the LLC, is that sufficient? Although I trust the wholesaler, there is no way for me to know if the LLC has any liabilities, is there? Not sure what the pros and cons are of purchasing the LLC directly. Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks so much,

~GC~

@GC Vaghasia
Do not purchase the LLC. What if there were fines, lawsuits or other debts the LLC owed.

You just bought them as well if you buy the LLC.

Not worth your time or aggravation to buy the LLC

@Chris Seveney - Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I will surely end up spending a few extra bucks with closing costs, but probably worth it! Appreciate your assistance.

Yes. We do this all the time. The LLC's have to be new. Easy enough to verify its history.

@GC Vaghasia You wouldn't buy the LLC... you would buy 100% of the membership interests in the LLC. The agreement would look quite a bit different from a real estate contract. It might incorporate a real estate contract, but my bet is you would incur significant legal fees negotiating the agreement.

Like @Chris Seveney said, there are serious risks in doing this. I would only do so if:

1) it actually saves on transfer taxes (see below); and

2) I was 100% confident that the LLC has no other liabilities ... the seller will warrant this in the membership purchase and sale agreement. Is that warranty worth more than the paper it's printed on?