REO properties. How do i start?

7 Replies

ok. So I'm a total Newb. Just signed up a week ago. A lot of places near my initial investment property are owned by banks. Can anyone help me with questions on the best way to pick up these properties and start my monopoly approach on Baltic Ave? 

@Patrick Coleman   Welcome to BP Patrick!

Typically the REO's will be listed by a realtor and you would make the offer through the realtor. Generally the bank won't accept offers directly as they want maximum exposure and offers by listing it on the MLS.

If it's not listed yet, they could be doing due diligence still, such as determining the listing price, winterizing the property etc.

Good luck!

- Tom

Thanks Tom! I'm looking at a property that has gone through an auction and has not been picked up by anyone so the bank bought it out at 3k. The MLS has it at 22k. I am working on seeing it. If it's worth it, how do i negotiate knowing the purchase price and the land and dwelling value given by the county? I mean i can talk a used car salesman down but isn't it beneficial for the bank to let it go for less?

Originally posted by @Patrick Coleman :

Thanks Tom! I'm looking at a property that has gone through an auction and has not been picked up by anyone so the bank bought it out at 3k. The MLS has it at 22k. I am working on seeing it. If it's worth it, how do i negotiate knowing the purchase price and the land and dwelling value given by the county? I mean i can talk a used car salesman down but isn't it beneficial for the bank to let it go for less?