funding foreclosure acquisitions

6 Replies

Newbie here, trying to gather all the info I can on my new journey.  My question has to deal with foreclosures/reo properties. I know that most institutions want their money ASAP.  If I found a property that was a good deal and the numbers came in right to make a profit after rehab, could I use hard money to make up the difference in cash I don't have ? Any other avenues of financing I should be considering  when dealing with foreclosures ? Thanks in advance for the help

Hi William,

In my 3 years working with REO, I haven't yet come across anyone who has used hard money to purchase a foreclosed property. However, plenty of buyers have purchased them through traditional financing. The only downside to financing is that if there are multiple offers on a property, the bank will 9 times out of 10 go with a cash buyer who can close the quickest.

Good luck!

Dan

You can and should use Hard Money to fix and re-sell foreclosures.  That's what they are made for.

Banks care about the highest sales price, not the financing type. They have a responsibility to accept the highest offer unless they have a very good reason otherwise. For instance, if the house has no furnace and there's a higher FHA offer, then it will not be accepted because they already know the financing will not qualify.

Two completely identical offers, one cash and one hard money .. yes cash is superior.  However, if the hard money offer is even a little more, it will likely be accepted over cash.

@Phil Z. To an owner of a house (bank or private) the offer is cash. You don't specify when buying a house if it is hard money, you put it down as a cash offer. If proof of funds are required, your HML should provide you with a statement for that.