Buyers agent commission

14 Replies

I am submitting a hud offer on a home as an investor. What is the lowest acceptable commission for a realtor as the buyers agent? This agent has showed me 2 houses, and done 2 cmas for me. I found all the properties I am interested in. The hud agent gets 3%. Can I offer 1.6%. The net to hud on this transaction is around 140,000, so the agent at 1.6% would get around 2300 commission for his brokerage. 

What is the lowest you have ever negotiated to (commission wise)?. If the agent brought me the deal or had more time involved, I would feel the realtor was due a larger commission. 

I don't think HUD will adjust their net via a reduced buyer agent commission, if it's even doable.

@Brian Phillips

@Wayne Brooks

The buyer's agent commission is a fillable field on a HUD offer and can be anywhere from $0 to 3%

Since I am a Broker, I always put $0 , so I can buy the property for 3% less than the next guy.  For example:

Your Bid                                                              My Bid

$100,000 Bid                                                       $97000

-$3000 Listing agent commission                       -$2910 Listing agent comm

-$3000 Buyers agent comm                                -$0 Buyers agent comm

$94000 Net to Hud                                              $94090 Net to Hud

My bid wins

Saying that, unless you are an agent you are going to have to find someone to reduce their commission.   I would look for an independent Broker in your state who would have the ability to reduce their commission as most regular agents working for a brokerage may or may not have that ability

512-293-3885

@Greg H. Thanks for the correction. Haven't offered on a HUD in a long time.

Ok I have switched realtors due to inflexibility with commission negotiation (he demanded 3% and would take no less). I am going to be 100% crystal clear so nobody misinterprets me.

This is the deal I am looking at.