Finding Names of Owners BEFORE Tax Foreclosure

18 Replies

Newbie here.

I am interested in finding lists of CURRENT property owners who are delinquent on their taxes.  (Not interested in lists of properties that have already been forecolsed on for tax sales.)

Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Go to the local county site and look at the upcoming auction list. Those are owners who are delinquent, but they are still the owner until the auction at which point they've lost the house.

In the area I'm in the list comes out about 6 weeks before the sale date.

Thanks.  Any other tips also welcome.

You can go to a title company that can pull all kinds of different lists. 

Cool.  Just Google "title company"?

If I go to a county's website, and find an Advertised List for an upcoming Tax Certificate Sale, how then do I determine what type of properties they are?  For example, does "Residential" mean there is definitely a house on it, or could it be raw land?

Learn to use your county's online sites...recorder/property appraiser, clerk of court, etc.

@Mission Flegg

Interesting post as I am literally working on this exact issue right now.

There is a tax sale in progress in my area.  Like elsewhere, the county posts the list of upcoming items for sale 8 weeks or so before the sale starts.  People either contact the delinquent owners before the items go to sale or ultimately wait for the sale and bid.

I am trying to get ahead of this process.  The county sells a list of all delinquent properties, meaning any properties even one payment past due.  I'll merge this list with owner contact info (gotten from other sites) and build a contact list.  I can then target owners > 3 years past due, giving me a couple years before they go to sale to market to them.