What is this list really saying?

6 Replies

I receive these lists from my mom all the time and I have no idea how to utilize these if possible. I'm new to investing and like to learn as I go. Seeing as how I have BP on my side, maybe you lovely people could help me out as to what my options are with this list. Let me know if I'm sitting on leads or wasting my time haha. Thanks in advance!

This looks like a tax deed sale where property is going to be sold to top bidder. Usually there is a redemption period after sale to allow current owner time to payoff with additional interest which you would get; you can earn up to 36% interest depending on state.  Check out tax lien certificates and tax deed sales.  Tony Ramirez from US Tax Liens has a free 7day free overview course I recommend taking. 

Texas is a 'redemption state' so if you want to invest locally, tax deeds are what you should research.   Basically when people don't pay their taxes the county can foreclose and then auction their property.  This in a nutshell 'wipes out' liens Like mortgages and 'mechanic liens' (if they didn't pay the roofing company etc.), but does NOT wipe out  'superior' liens like those from the state and/or federal Level (Childsupport, IRS, or EPA liens for example).  This is why you could still be liable for large amounts if you buy a property w/ a superior lien against it.  

There is a lot of research involved in "due diligence" in order to find properties that are worth the investment.  And then unless you take legal action to clear the title, the properties can have hurtles when trying to sell.  And generally spec king you'll need to hold the property for at least 6 mon, until the end of the redemption period to sell.