LLc vs Simultaneous closing

2 Replies

Good evening everyone. i am new to wholesaling properties and i am very interested in wholesaling my first HUD property. I have two questions about getting started. The first question being:

is it easier to use an llc to wholesale a property or to complete the closing with a simultaneous closing?

the second question is, is it important to market the property before i get my deal approved?

An LLC is a business entity that is used to limit liability, hence Limited Liability Company. To be honest, many times an LLC is useless because the business owner "pierces the corporate veil" which basically means that the natural person and the business become one in the same. This defeats the purpose of the LLC and reverts the liability back to the natural person

Before you do your first deal, I would make sure that you have a solid understanding of how the wholesale process works, i.e. offer, acceptance, contract forms, assignments, double closing, etc. You don't need an LLC to close a deal. You can close a deal without any business structure at all really, although I wouldn't necessarily recommend that. I would highly recommend consulting with a real estate attorney, preferably one who has dealt with investors, about what you are trying to accomplish and let him advise you on how to limit liability and what your obligations are. This will ensure that you are staying within your legal boundaries. If you cant afford an attorney yet, I would network with your local REIA members and ask these same questions there. They may not be able to provide you with legal advice, but they'll definitely get you thinking in the right direction. I'm sorry I couldn't provide you with a straight answer for question 1, but the answer really depends on the following question; What are your goals and what are you trying to accomplish?