Should I trade in my car to improve DTI if I am a Realtor?

71 Replies

Looking to trade in my $30k car to improve my debt to income. However, I will definitely take a loss on it as I just purchased it 2 months ago. I recently became set on being a real estate investor and have had buyers remorse ever since. 

I am getting my real estate license and will be able to write off my car and it's depreciation if I keep it. 

Should I Trade it and take a loss or should I keep it and deal with the dti and being a slave to the rat race for 5 years?

@Kameron Patterson this is kind of a confusing question without knowing your exact goals. If you're going to become an agent and live most places, you will need a car. I'm not sure why your DTI matters unless you are trying to qualify for a loan right now or cannot afford the payment

Ariel Vincent, Real Estate Agent in CA (#01997922 )
650-539-4416

I currently own a home and a car and am looking to start using the BRRRR method. So I will need to qualify for the refinancing portion of the BRRRR.

I added the real estate agent as I will need a reliable car and can write it off. So is it worth taking the loss or should I ride it out?

Hope that clears some confusion.

What’s your car payment a month?

If your car payment is 400 bucks but you make 6k then your debt to income ratio is still small. So to answer this question it varies a lot on what your income is

Originally posted by @Caleb Heimsoth :

What’s your car payment a month?

If your car payment is 400 bucks but you make 6k then your debt to income ratio is still small. So to answer this question it varies a lot on what your income is

My gross income from my W2 is around 6k and my car payment is 570. But my goal is to get out of the rat race in the next 2 years (hopefully less)

Originally posted by @Ariel Vincent :