• Real Estate Agent
  • USA
Votes |
Searching for a Broker

Andy S McConnell
  • Real Estate Agent
  • USA
Posted May 19 2022, 06:12

Before you say EXP or REAL, they require you to be licensed all with the same company. I am a Full-Time Realtor in Maryland and I do not intend to change brokers or teams in my hometown. I am currently with Long and Foster. I am searching for a broker I can hang my license with near Tampa Bay/Clearwater Beach Florida. I have family and friends in the area, and I plan to split my year up eventually. 

User Stats

Votes
Bruce Lynn#2 Real Estate Agent Contributor
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Coppell, TX
Votes |
Bruce Lynn#2 Real Estate Agent Contributor
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Coppell, TX
Replied May 19 2022, 07:48

Did you check with your broker? I have no idea, but I would think there is a reason you have to be licensed with the same company even in multiple states. Probably to do with E&O, but not sure.

If they don't allow it, we'd love to have you at KW.

User Stats

Votes
Marian Huish
  • Real Estate Broker
  • DC MD, VA & NV
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • DC MD, VA & NV
Replied May 20 2022, 05:35

In response to your comment @Andy S McConnell, I was also with Long and Foster for 15 years (DC/MD/VA) and when I got licensed in NV, I had to go with another broker as LNF wasn't there... let me just say that it was a nightmare trying to manage my on-line presence with two different brokerages! I would highly suggest going under one brokerage that could accommodate you in whatever state you choose to be licensed in. I too loved LNF, however, can now, under eXp Realty, can hold a license and/or grow my team, and by getting both client and agent referrals, etc. in all 50 states as well as 21 countries. i.e., the geographical boundaries no longer exist. Other large national brokerages, such as KW, Compass, etc. can also likely offer this. Happy to chat-