Skip to content
Real Estate Agent

User Stats

Votes
Russell Brazil
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Washington, D.C.
Votes |
Mislisted Multifamily Properties In Washington, DC.

Russell Brazil
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Washington, D.C.
ModeratorPosted Dec 3 2022, 12:33

Not all agents are created equally. In fact in the multifamily space, there are 54 sellers who will lose between $2,943,683 and $6,868,595 cumulatively because of incompetence. And guess what….the sellers and their agents will never know the mistake that cost them this much money.

Let’s dig in.

As we stand right now, there are 115 properties listed in the multifamily section of the MLS in Washington, DC. 54 legal multifamily properties are currently listed as single family properties in the MLS. So 32% of all multifamily properties are currently mislisted as single family properties.

Why does this matter? Well if I am an agent with a multifamily buyer, do you think I am searching in the multifamily section of the MLS, or the single family section? Which section of the MLS am I setting up searches for my multifamily buyers? The multifamily section of course. So with 99% of multifamily buyer searching in the multifamily section of the MLS, they will miss these 54 other properties entirely. These properties never get mailed out to the hordes of buyers looking for these specific properties!

This causes these properties to sit on the market longer, and eventually sell for a lower sales price than they are actually worth. In fact, excluding the new to market properties in this category, the average days on market for them is 121 days. Pretty amazing when the typical appropriately priced multifamily should sell in under 30 days.

We estimate that a property mislisted like this will sell for between 3% and 7% below it’s actually market value. The total value of these mislisted properties is $98,122,779….Nearly $100 MILLION! The average price of these properties is $1,817,088.