• Iowa City, IA
Votes |
New Agent Advice

Dainen VanGorkom
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Iowa City, IA
Posted Jan 24 2023, 05:30

Hello BP,

My names Dainen VanGorkom. I am a new real estate agent in Iowa. I currently have three listing and I am having a hard time selling them. Also, I am having a hard time finding additional clients (buyers or sellers) to work with. Does anyone have any advice on strategies to sell a cold listing or best methods to find new clients? Thanks BP.

User Stats

Votes
Taylor Dasch
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Temple, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Temple, TX
Replied Jan 24 2023, 05:49

Wow your doing pretty well for being new! It is a lot harder to sell them now but the market seems to be slightly improving. Do you have professional photos done on your listings? If not that is one of the most important factors aside from price. 

If possible - and depending on activity on the listing - lower the price a bit. 

I do open houses a lot, not because I think it gets a buyer but I know sites like Redfin and Realtor.com will email the property out to promote the open house and put it in front of more potential buyers. 

Price is the most important - I have been pricing listings about 7% below what the comps suggest ( If the seller allows it) and even then I was worried it wasnt enough. 

Photos and Open houses definitely help.

As far as finding new clients you will just have to dive deep into a whole bunch of strategies and find out what works for you. Im doing a lot of time wasting honestly trying to figure out which lead gen source to double down on. 

User Stats

Votes
Sarah Roberts
  • Realtor
  • Ocala, Fl
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Ocala, Fl
Replied Jan 24 2023, 06:35

Three listings wow thats impressive! I'm also a new agent and I am having a hard time selling my first listing. You're not alone! Personally, I'm going to print out flyers of my listing and ask small businesses if I  can put a flyer in their window.

BiggerPockets logo