• Real Estate Broker
  • Raleigh, NC
Votes |
Question About Real Estate License

Benjamin Carver
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Raleigh, NC
Posted Feb 5 2023, 16:00

Hey BP! I'm an associate agent (showing realtor) with redfin in Texas. I am considering a move to colorado this summer but have an issue. I didn't realize going into it, but I am coming up on my one-year mark and need two years of being an agent to transfer to Colorado. So I basically have two options that I am aware of:

I need to choose between 1) moving to colorado and paying a broker to keep my license active for one year while not being able to use it so I can then transfer it to colorado after I hit the 2-year mark, or 2) starting over from scratch right away and getting my license in colorado this summer. 

This first year, I have SAE of 98 hours for the first renewal. Colorado requires 168 for new agents so I'm thinking not that big of a difference anyways.

Even if I tried to keep my license active, I have no idea how I would do that from Colorado. Maybe find a virtual broker that doesn't care? Unsure about this.

Any and all input is gladly received! Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Richard F.#1 Tenant Screening Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Honolulu, HI
Votes |
Richard F.#1 Tenant Screening Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Honolulu, HI
Replied Feb 5 2023, 16:21

Aloha,

Of course this varies by state, but transferring still usually requires taking classes and passing the (new) state portion of the licensing exam. With regard to hanging your license in Texas for a year or more, it represents a very unknown liability to the Broker that would allow you to do so. If you still want access to the Texas MLS, that is additional expense; plus covering you under their E&O insurance and probably bonding. You would be much better off starting over in CO. You could possibly start taking courses online before you actually arrive there.

User Stats

Votes
Brett Deas
  • Colorado
Votes |
  • Colorado