Is FHA Offer's Real That Bad ?

13 Replies

Hi 

I've been working for a buyer for 3 months. Over the course of that time I have submitted at least 4 offers. All offer have been denied because she can only do FHA. Now I know the issues that can show up with FHA loans but is it really that bad ?. I have a buyer that REALLY needs to buy a home for personal reasons and all sellers deny her. We have waived remedies , waived home warranties , offered money ( She has alot of funds saved but lower credit ) and nothing works. I have the chance of losing a big client because of this issue , Please offer advise.

Thanks 

As a seller if I have two offers, one FHA and one conventional, I lean towards the conventional, even with a lower offer. FHA has risks for the seller. If the house does not appraise, the buyer cannot bring more money to the table (from my understanding), and this appraisal stands with the home for 6 months with any other FHA buyer. FHA also has some strict home inspection criteria that has to be completed. Some items come up (life safety) and are non negotiable for the seller. These can be large ticket items that could hurt the deal.

The only advice I can give, if the only reason she is losing deals is due to FHA, is to get her with a good mortgage broker who can find her a non FHA mortgage.

Originally posted by @Brian Pulaski :

As a seller if I have two offers, one FHA and one conventional, I lean towards the conventional, even with a lower offer. FHA has risks for the seller. If the house does not appraise, the buyer cannot bring more money to the table (from my understanding), and this appraisal stands with the home for 6 months with any other FHA buyer. FHA also has some strict home inspection criteria that has to be completed. Some items come up (life safety) and are non negotiable for the seller. These can be large ticket items that could hurt the deal.