Skip to content
Mortgage Brokers & Lenders

User Stats

Votes
Allison Keng
Votes |
College or Pre-licensing training if I want to become a Mortgage Broker ?

Allison Keng
Posted May 23 2023, 14:11

Hello to all Professors and friends 

I am a newbie that wanna get start with real estate and also a fan of bigger pocket. I believe bigger pocket community can help me by giving me some idea. I wonder what is the best path should I choose if I want to be a mortgage broker? I am debating should I go to college to get a degree in accounting then start working to gain experience but it’s going to slowing me down on my saving process and less time to maximize my income or should I just get a Pre-licensing training instead ?  Which one is best for building a strong foundation in this field with time and financial saving. If Pre-licensing training is better, Can you recommend me the resource that I can access to? I really appreciate your help. 
Thank you 

User Stats

Votes
Erik Estrada
Lender
  • Lender
Votes |
Lender
  • Lender
Replied May 23 2023, 15:38

Get your NMLS and work under a mortgage broker to learn the ropes of the business. 

Make sure to work with a broker that wants to grow their business. You will get the mentorship and training you need. 

No better way to learn than getting your hands dirty and going through the whole process yourself. My first few loans weren't pretty, but they got done nonetheless. 

Fuente Funding Inc.  Logo
Account Closed
  • Columbus, OH
Votes |
  • Columbus, OH
Replied May 24 2023, 08:25
Quote from @Erik Estrada:

Get your NMLS and work under a mortgage broker to learn the ropes of the business. 

Make sure to work with a broker that wants to grow their business. You will get the mentorship and training you need. 

No better way to learn than getting your hands dirty and going through the whole process yourself. My first few loans weren't pretty, but they got done nonetheless. 

Agreed, hands on experience is always the most valuable.