Advice for becoming a broker

5 Replies

I am looking to get my brokers license in Colorado and I am looking for any advice on classes, books, steps after getting the license, etc. I am just getting started with all this so any advice is greatly appreciated!

@Chelsea Burdge congrats on starting the process! It takes a while to find your niche, but being a realtor can be a very fulfilling path for sure. I have personally loved working with investors here in the Berwyn/Oak Park area, and have really found that to be my niche. Don't be surprised if it takes you two or three years to really get this dialed in though. 

I would highly recommend you read Mark Ferguson's book.  I am not affiliated in any way, but it helped me a lot when I got started. One of his best suggestions (that I didn't take unfortunately) was to start letting your "sphere" know that you are becoming an agent even before you have started the classes potentially! Here is the link to his book:

https://www.amazon.com/Make-Real-Estate-Agent-Inve...

Chelsea, the first thing you could do is set aside on year of living expenses. Over 70% of new agents give up their license within one year because they can't afford to continue. It's expensive to start and can take 2-3 years to build your business and start earning a good wage. Around 80% of all agents give up within two years. Of those that stick it out, the median income is around $54,000 before counting expenses like licensing fees, MLS dues, insurance, marketing, etc.

It's a great career but it takes a self starter that can work independently and the ability to manage finances well. If you have any specific questions, I am happy to help!

Thank you for the advice! I guess I'm a little confused, every time I think I'm getting it somewhat figured out I get confused again. I do have a few questions

- Is a mortgage broker and a real estate broker the same thing? 

- Do I have to become an agent before I can be a broker?