How to be a Mortgage Broker

1 Reply

I am thinking of career change. I am really interested in Investing but also wants to work in a Mortgage Industry while I save money to start my investing career. Can you please give me some advice how to get started to be a Mortgage Broker. I am 22 and currently working in Hospitality Industry. I am on my way in getting an MLO license but still not sure where can I start as i have no experience in this Industry. Thank you very much and your answers will be greatly appreciated!

Originally posted by @Rhoda Diaz :

I am thinking of career change. I am really interested in Investing but also wants to work in a Mortgage Industry while I save money to start my investing career. Can you please give me some advice how to get started to be a Mortgage Broker. I am 22 and currently working in Hospitality Industry. I am on my way in getting an MLO license but still not sure where can I start as i have no experience in this Industry. Thank you very much and your answers will be greatly appreciated!

Overall the industry is contracting and not a lot of corporate hiring is going on due to the refi market drying up as rates go up (& you probably thought higher rates meant more profit, huh?). I wouldn't even bother clicking on the "careers" page of XYZ Lending or ABC Mortgage.

But down from the corporate level to the branch, or specific loan originator, level - different story. Individuals (& branches) can be growing even as the industry contracts, as my personal YTD production compared to last year would indicate :P.