• Real Estate Investor
  • Trinity, FL
Votes |
That sound was my giant sigh of relief!

Stefan K.
  • Real Estate Investor
  • Trinity, FL
Posted Oct 21 2013, 11:29

So, I've been investing in tax lien certificates in Florida for 3 years with a business partner through an LLC. We had given up the hopes of actually getting a property as everything either paid off before getting to auction or on the few that made it to auction, they were bid up beyond what we'd be willing to pay. I had some money set aside for my 5 year old daughter and decided last year that 0.5% interest in an online savings account didn't make much sense when I was making 16% or so in tax lien certificates. So I matched the money owed to her with my own money and bought some tax lien certs last May - one which was already seasoned so I paid the other outstanding taxes and county fees to apply for the tax deed.

This June, I received the notice from county clerk's office that the property would be in the August tax deed sale. So I paid the additional fees (recording, publication, serving notice, etc.), assuming that the taxes would get paid.

In July I get a copy of the notice served with the publication listing the sale.