Success without a mentor. Anyone?

21 Replies

Hi. I'm a newbie. I'm wondering if anyone here on BP has been successful for a long period of time without a mentor. I know from reading articles that it is possible learn the whole thing yourself through books and whatnot. But I'd like to see if a real person here on BP is successful in this field by teaching themselves. Please share your stories. Thank you.

there are tons on here that had success by learning the hard way. Listen to pod cast 77 for a great story about just that. Good luck!

Andri,

I see this is your first post. Welcome to Biggerpockets. What is your definition of successful? Successful is different to everyone. Yes, you can learn a lot from books and podcasts. The best teacher is "learn by doing". You have to take action. Books and podcasts can only take you so far. 

No doubt you will make a lot of mistakes along the way, but that's how you learn. Having a mentor is great because you get to learn on someone else's nickel. J. M. has built a $1M real estate empire in as little as 2 years recently just by taking action. When you stumble along the way, just post your questions here and someone will help you out. 

Best of luck. 

Yes and it's about 98% because of BP.  1% from books and the other 1% is attributed to networking and learning the local market from other investors, realtors, and research. 

@Andri Artayudianto  I don't think many people truly have "mentors."  I think most have a network of people they can bounce ideas of off, and a willingness to soak up all the info they can (in places like BP).  Early in my career, I had a number of people who were smarter than me who were willing to answer questions here and there.  I still do!

Medium buysellinvest.2Dawn Brenengen, Trailwood Realty, LLC | 919‑840‑8692 | http://www.trailwoodrealty.com | Podcast Guest on Show #101

@Andri Artayudianto Yes I did it.check out my recent success story post here