Where are my pitfalls?

22 Replies

Hi all,

I am a newbie in real estate and getting to learn from BP. I live in the bay area, CA (on rent) with my family. Home prices here are so high, more so in good school districts, I cannot afford (my be I do not want to ) buy a house to live here. I have some cash in hand and was thinking of buying an apartment (Potentially managed my a company -so that I can do things from here) in Texas (Plano or Austin). My target is to earn rentals which should be 100% more than my mortgage.  In the long run, I want to develop equity and buy more similar properties or sell it off if the market looks better.

1. With your experiences, what could be my pitfalls if I take this strategy? 

2. Is it a good idea to put money in an investment property or rather buy a home to live?

3. Is it a good idea to invest in Texas living in bay area CA?

Thanks,

HD

i suggest listening to show 37 of the BP podcast.

http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/09/26/lifestyle-investing-podcast-aaron-mazzrillo/

First off, investing in real estate while still paying someone elses mortgage so he can cash flow would be the first thing i would want to eliminate. This is where i currently am in my strategy. I am renting and refuse to do so any longer. 

My plan to get out of it? Buy a multi family property. Live in one unit and let the other tenants cover my mortgage. So all the money you used to be throwing away into someone elses pockets, can now be used to invest in other properties. But this is my plan because i dont have a lot of money to invest with so i need to free up as much money as possible.

Hi Hitesh,