My Real Estate Journey

25 Replies

I've posted a couple times so far on the forums and absolutely LOVE the wealth of information on here. I wanted to keep a journal of my process to financial freedom through real estate and share it with both beginners and seasoned investors who I'm sure have gone through a lot of what lies ahead. 

To give a quick background, I graduated college in Dec 2013. Two months later, I had my first post-college job as a Recruiter. While living at home, I threw all my money at student loans and within 2 years, I was debt free. I started thinking about how I could live the life I wanted and came across many blogs such as MrMoneyMustache preaching financial freedom. Thinking more about their ideas, it struck me that I didn't want to live on 20% of my income and there must be a better way which lead me to real estate and Biggerpockets. I joined a couple years ago but didn't get serious until about 3 months ago. I started saving up money for a down payment and reading real estate books ( Millionaire Real Estate Investor - Keller, Build a Rental Property Empire- Ferguson, The Book on Rental Property Investing - Turner, and currently reading The Richest Man in Babylon- Clason)

The past couple months I have looked at some properties, 2 SFH and 2 MFH. I had an idea of what I was looking for but was new and just wanted to get my feet wet. Neither of these properties were good deals so I passed. It's important to remember that passing on bad deals is as important (if not more) than finding good deals.