Skip to content
Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Haydn Zeis
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Columbus, OH
Votes |
How I walked away from my first deal with $67,899.45; thanks BP!

Haydn Zeis
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Columbus, OH
Posted Nov 21 2016, 10:15

As I’m writing this I’m about 12 hours and 30 minutes away closing on my first deal.  However, I’m not going to post this on the forum until the paperwork is signed! You never know what can happen!

In 2014 I purchased my first investment property, a live-in flip, in Columbus, Ohio. The property was a HUD home; I found it on the MLS (I'm a licensed REALTOR). I put a bid in on the property and it was accepted for $85,601.44 (44 is my lucky number)! I was able to secure a higher interest loan 4.85% for a 5% down conventional. Rehab costs were just over $20,000.00.

The rehab consisted of rebuilding the deck, pouring new front concrete steps, painting the exterior of the house, revamping all the landscaping, knocking down a wall in the living room to help create more of an open concept, sanding and coating hard wood floors, new carpet in bedrooms, changing out several light fixtures, swapping out the vanity in the bathroom, updating the kitchen with new appliances and creating an open concept by knocking down a wall, painting the entire interior, adding recessed lighting through the living room, updating all plumbing, and installing new gutters. I was able to keep costs down by down by doing most of the work myself, I did hire an electrician, plumber, and people to install the gutters.