• Real Estate Agent
  • Berlin, MA
Votes |
Our latest buy and hold success with pics and numbers

Michael Totman
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Berlin, MA
Posted Dec 2 2016, 07:19

I wanted to share this recent success story with everyone. For some history my brother Nick and I have been partnering on buy and holds since 2009. With this latest story, by far our best and (potentially) most profitable deal to date, we have 12 apartments spread through 5 properties. Yes, we are small time but growing.

I first spotted this deal on the MLS in April or May 2015 but the asking price was comically too high, around $360,000 I believe. I watched it, saw no movement, so in June 2015 I decided to make what I thought was a fair offer of $200,000.

It’s a 3 unit building with 3 fairly identical 3 bedroom units on top of each other located near the center of town in a rural area south of Boston with commuter train access to the city.

My offer was countered in the low 300’s to which I countered again at $225,000. It would be an ok deal in the high 200’s or low 300’s, but I don’t want just an ok deal. They countered back at $280,000 but I held firm at $225,000 knowing the work it needed. They said no.

Two and a half months later my agent got a call from the seller stating that if my $225k offer was still good they would accept. Maybe the pro’s would say I should have countered with a lower number, but we did accept this and away we went.

We had just finished a cash out refi on two other properties so we had cash in the bank for the 25% down payment and repairs.

We closed this purchase at the end of October 2015.

Two of the units came occupied; one a section 8 elderly woman who had lived there for 15 years with no rent increase and the other a non-subsidized couple of roommates. Neither of those units were paying market rent but they were covering the mortgage and other costs of owning the building. We decided to leave them be while we focused on the problems on the first floor.