• Investor
  • SE Wisconsin/NE Illinois
Votes |
First BRRR completed in Milwaukee, WI - NO MONEY DOWN

Kyle Mack
  • Investor
  • SE Wisconsin/NE Illinois
Posted Jul 19 2017, 16:58

Hey Biggerpockets! I wanted to share my BRRR project and how the numbers worked out.

At the beginning of the year, based on a hotter multi-family market, I switched gears to focus solely on foreclosed duplexes. Starting on the MLS, I looked at duplexes that needed under $10,000 in rehab work in B-/C+ neighborhoods.

As a full-time occupation, I am a commercial real estate professional. Although I am licensed and have MLS credentials, I have found it makes the most sense to have a trusted broker (@Michael Henry), to walk the properties with me, provide his opinion/feedback, and write my offers for me. After 2-3 showings per week for about 2 months, I found a 3/2 BR upper/lower duplex that showed promise.

Mike has completed and advised on many rehab/rental projects and his expertise was helpful in making a decision. Primarily, the rehab work was cosmetic, but including finishing off a bathroom. The rehab cost was estimated at $5,700. I put in an offer of $55,000, which was slightly over asking price, due to multiple offers. I estimated the ARV to be right around $100,000 (60.7% LTV).

Concerning financing, I had partnered up with another partner, who provided the down-payment. In order to remain flexible, I approached a local hard money lender, who funded 65% of the ARV. With this structure, I was able to purchase the building for NO MONEY DOWN.

I closed on the property on 3/27/17, and the rehab timeframe was roughly one month. Also, during this time, I found a local credit union who could refinance me out of the hard money for up to 80% LTV with NO SEASONING PERIOD for the full appraisal value.