Lands Available list post tax deed auction investment success!

5 Replies

I never heard of a ," Lands Available list til January 2017. I listened to a 30 min audible also free to read on Kindle, " LOW RISK INVESTING WITH FLORIDA TAX CERTIFICATES" We bought 2 home run properties since from Duval County Florida Tax deed office. We  closed 4446 Lexington ave. A vacant lot bought from Duval Lands Available list. We Paid $7600.00 for it over the counter post auction from the tax deed office  4/5/17 for base tax with no competition., sold it for 65k and closed 12/8/17.

We still walked away with 60k after all the quiet title suit Attorney was working on since April  attorney closing costs. I expected it to cost more. Attorneys are cheaper than realtors...I guess. Not that I wont use a realtor , I am studying for my license right now.

Our first tax deed property.

Unflippingbelievable! No rehab just land in a good spot!

Because we did not hold it atleast a year and 1 day we are paying 28% short term capital gains tax on it. Still 45k profit after taxes for paper work and process. Holding past 1 year 1 day would reduce the tax to 20% for our tax bracket. Holding 2 years we could 1031 to another Real Estate investment and defer the taxes. My CPA is not a fan of deferment because the later taxes can be higher.

Awesome!! Congrats on finding such a great deal! Wishing you continued success!

I live off the lands available list!! I love it too...

@Mark Fries 

Amazing! We need to hook up and share some thoughts Mark Fries

That's awesome, congrats! I'm just getting starting researching the FL Lands Available list from various counties. One question, did you to pay 50% of value due to Homestead? I assume not due to how low your cost was. I'm still confused as to how I know which properties will require that extra assessment money when you're buying from the lands available list. Love to hear any feedback you have. Thanks!