Is it too late to start at 48 years old??

15 Replies

Hello BP’ers, I’m new to BP but not entirely new to REI. I’ve owned rentals and vacation property but lost it all in an ugly divorce. I’m now 48 years old and starting over with not a lot in the bank. I hear a lot of success stories here but most of them are from young folks with MANY years of wealth building ahead of them. I would love to here success stories of folks who started from scratch in their late 40’s - early 50’s.
Originally posted by @Matt Crawley :
Hello BP’ers,

I'm new to BP but not entirely new to REI. I've owned rentals and vacation property but lost it all in an ugly divorce. I'm now 48 years old and starting over with not a lot in the bank. I hear a lot of success stories here but most of them are from young folks with MANY years of wealth building ahead of them. I would love to here success stories of folks who started from scratch in their late 40's - early 50's.

Welcome to the site Matt. It's definitely a get rich slow business so starting younger is pretty powerful but tons of money can still be made. If you buy right you'll be set up really well come retirement age.

At 48 you still have 20 years before looking to cash out/retire. That is enough time to do whatever you want. Do it not to get rich but rather for the enjoyment. Making a profit is simply the gravy.

Yes , you are too old . You have 1 foot in the grave and the other in a banana peel . You should be looking into nursing homes , and getting one of those buttons around your neck " I have fallen and I cant get up "

I am 56 with a 9 year old and a 12 year old ,  I started those late , I try to buy one rental a year .

Its too late only  when you are pushing up daisys 

Should be even easier the 2nd time

Heck no.  I started at 58.  I do not think I will amass some real estate empire like some on here but I think it will be very worthwhile for 10 - 12 years.