Finished Two Rehabs in One Year!

18 Replies

Hello BP, I am a part-time real estate investor in the Baltimore, MD area. I have wanted to do a post of my REI successes for quite some time. First, I really want to thank the BP community for being so supportive and such an inspiration. For everyone out there reading this thinking "can I do this?" the answer is yes, absolutely. I did not have thousands of dollars saved up, I didn't have a millionaire partner and I didn't have someone in the family showing me what to do. I studied – literally read hundreds of BP posts, any real estate books I could find and listened to podcasts for 2 years straight before doing anything (probably overkill). Anyway, the more I talked about my desire to flip houses the more people I met that knew someone, that knew someone in the business. After speaking with countless agents, investors and contractors in my area, I found a mentor to help me take the plunge. He was able to give me the confidence I needed to take on my first house.

First House

The first house I did was a single family 3br 2.5 ba with a 1 car garage. It was built in the early 90’s so everything needed to be replaced cosmetically. New hardwood floors throughout main level, new kitchen, removed wall between dining room and kitchen, recessed lighting, new tile work and fixtures in bathrooms, drywall point up and paint, new hvac, new interior doors and hardware, new carpet. We also staged the house ourselves.

Here are the numbers:

Purchase price: 93k

Close cost: 10k

Rehab Cost: 43k

Sales Cost: 22k

Holding costs (Insurance/bge/hard money interest and point): 5k

Sold: 195k (4 contracts in first week)

Net Profit: 22k

Total length of rehab: 4 months

Here are the pics:

Before:

(I will post these later, have to dig them up)

After:

Second House