Skip to content
Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Kelly Bellini
  • Sharpsburg, GA
Votes |
We did it! Our first BRRRR is a success! Phew...

Kelly Bellini
  • Sharpsburg, GA
Posted Jun 21 2018, 07:46

I'm so excited to FINALLY be able to share the news about our first deal, a BRRRR! I've been (im)patiently awaiting this day, seeing as the project took a BIT longer than we had planned. Here's our story--my husband and I had been talking about flipping homes for a good 10 years now. Yup, 10 years ago I bought my first "how to flip" book, and though it took us a long time to feel like we were in the position to go for it, we finally took the plunge. We spent the first 7 months of 2017 scouring Zillow daily (thank goodness we both enjoy doing this as a pastime). We live South of Atlanta, Georgia, where home prices are pretty darned good, but we were having a fairly tough time finding our ideal property--a foreclosure, no basement, newer than 1990, in at least a B neighborhood, primarily cosmetic fixes. This was our ideal because we felt that this was what the two of us could handle, as we planned to do just about all the work ourselves (we had some experience with tiling, laying hardwood floors, some plumbing and electrical in our own home, and we're good at picking up new skills, which we knew we'd need to do. Finally, we found it: 3 bd/ 2 ba, foreclosure, built in 2005, single story, about 15 minutes from our home. We had saved up a chunk of money, so we were able to make an all cash offer. While this started out as a flip, after listening to the Bigger Pockets Podcast, day-in and day-out while working on the house, we realized that it made more sense to keep this one as a rental, and apply the BRRRR strategy. Here are the numbers:

Purchase Price: $89,000 (paid cash)

Renovations: $16,000 (we had estimated $15,000, so we were pretty pleased with the final number, and we paid this out of pocket as well)

All in: $105,000