• Rental Property Investor
  • Hartford, CT
Votes |
How I paid off $11,000 in CC debt while traveling the world

Heidi Kenefick
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Hartford, CT
Posted Jun 24 2018, 05:15

Hey BP I want to share my story of how I paid off $11,000 dollars in CC debt over a 27 month period, all while not paying any interest, and while traveling the world. 

When I graduated from medical school in 2015, I did not have any credit card debt. In school, I was always given a lump sum from my student loans every 6 months, so I would put everything on a credit card then pay it off in full at the end of the month. This made sense since I knew I could pay it off, I earned cash back rewards, and my cash earned interest while sitting in my savings account. It also made it easier to keep track of expenses. 

Then came graduation...no more loan money, and no more stipend from my scholarship. I had to go two months without any cash, and in that two months I took a celebratory trip to Hawaii, moved all of my belongings from Oregon to North Carolina, boarded my dog for a really long time, and had to put stuff in storage. I also closed on my house, and then needed to buy a bed, mattress, couch, and some chairs. Needless to say, I racked up A LOT of debt in a very short time span. About $10,000 to be exact.