Just quit my job- and you can too.

40 Replies

I've been investing in my area for about 15 years. I don't have a ton of properties and definitely did it with very little, if any cash. It's true, real estate is a get rich slow scheme. Yesterday was my last day as an employee, and I could not be more excited about spending more time doing what I want, with who I want, and on real estate. A couple things I was hoping to discuss. First and foremost; if I can do this, ANYONE can.

Second- everyone will have a different feeling about this, but I think there really is one essential trait a person with average means must have in order to be successful in real estate. I don't want to throw my answer out there, I'd like to see what others think is the single most important trait you need to be successful in RE.

Happy hunting!

I want to ask details but hopefully its not too intrusive. its nice to hear other peoples experiences

but whats your freedom number? like are you happy cashflowing 5k/m 10k?

I see your an agent. did you quit your 9-5 job and are still an agent or are you just living off of rentals

@David Zheng - I am working as an agent and have a property management company. Cash flow from my personal rentals pays the bills and any other money I earn is gravy. Honestly, I LOVE real estate, so looking at homes with clients and negotiating deals is a blast, not work. I only serve as an agent for investors that come my way through connections I've made, I'm not out marketing myself. Our goal was to have passive income that replaced my salary and covered all of our benefits- health insurance, retirement, etc. Hit the number last month and quit ten seconds later!