• Poughkeepsie, NY
Votes |
Busy summer for this teacher

Eric Hrlbock
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Poughkeepsie, NY
Posted Aug 9 2018, 03:28

Hello bp’ers

I have been teaching for 14 years and haven’t taken a summers off yet. Before real estate I was doing a masters program during the summer. In ny you need your masters within a certain timeframe from being certified.

Then in 2010 I was bought my first flip.

It turned out I was not educated in real estate and I made a lot of mistakes. It took 2 years to finish that project.  First I had barely enough for the down payment let alone closing and repairs. I won’t go into all the details of that deal but after 2 years of hard work I finished the shell I bought that I called a flip.  Then I sold it after 3 accepted offers and 2 of the 3 offers fell through. The process from being to end took almost 3 years.  That isn’t much of a success story.  But this is just the beginning 

I took the profits and bought a small backhoe. I have many stories about that but I will try and stay focused. I also bought a condo. That condo was a tax foreclosure and the old owner was in jail.  His personal property was in my new place. 

That condo was a crack house, and from beginning to end took a little of 14 days to turn it around.  Now adays we do condos in 5-7 days. I also had to stop at jail to see what he wanted me to do with his property. I put my first renter in that condo. A few weeks later went into contract for a hubzu condo same complex. As I was waiting to close I got a call from a real estate agent that I called many times to see different condos. He had a pocket listing.

Now I bought 1 condo,a backhoe and I’m about to close on another condo.  I used all my profit and savings and now trying to close on a3rd condo. I reached out to my best friend.  Me and him split the 3rd condo.  I borrowed from my retirement and teachers pension and I put together my half.