• Real Estate Agent
  • Cincinnati, OH
Votes |
Latest Duplex BRRRR Deal!!!

Joseph Cornwell#1 Real Estate Success Stories Contributor
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Cincinnati, OH
Posted Dec 11 2018, 08:18

Here is my current project on another BRRRR duplex in Deer Park, Ohio just outside of Cincinnati. I wanted to share the back story on how I picked up this off market deal with hopes to inspire other investors and hopefully add value to your investing!

For those who I have not met yet on BP, I am a police officer/real estate agent/MF investor in a small town near Cincinnati, Ohio. While out on patrol I was dispatched to this home for a burglary report. Long story short, this lady inherited this house that had sat vacant for 18 months, and she believed an ex-roommate of her late brother had broken a window out to steal some beer and a TV. She was crying and explaining this house was a money pit for her, she had no money or knowledge to fix it up to sell it, and just hoped someone would burned it down honestly.. I know telling a cop this... 

I explained to her that Deer Park is a great real estate market and she could sell this home as is. I also explained that I am a real estate agent/investor and buy and sell homes in this neighborhood often, if she would like my help. I gave her a card, and took the report. She called me later that same day and asked if she could get 50k for this duplex. I told her I would would be willing to buy the home, but I wanted to bring my contractors through it to price out renovation cost. After pricing out the entire renovation, which includes all new plumbing, electrical, framing, insulation, interior and exterior work, and a complete cosmetic gut and rehab, I could pay her 40k. She was extremely happy to be rid of this money pit, and I was adding a great BRRRR deal to my portfolio.

The numbers:

Final purchase price: $39,000.

Rehab budget: $60,000.

Current as completed appraisal value: $155,000.