• Investor
  • Los Angeles
Votes |
FEAR. THE FOUR LETTER WORD THAT STOPS US WELL BEFORE WE START

Rudy Estrada
  • Investor
  • Los Angeles
Posted Mar 15 2019, 08:40

I started my real estate investing career in 2005, back when I was a mortgage loan officer and the market was booming. I bought my first two bedrooms two bath condo that I house hacked and rented the other room out for $525 a month. Things were going so well in those days I ended up buying two four-plexes that were completely rented by students and had a property manager in place, I figured after all the expenses I still was cash flowing so this was a good deal I could not pass up. About a year later I ended up selling my condo and moving into a much more expensive loft in downtown L.A, why? Because did I mention, business was booming and I could afford it. Then guess what happened?! The real estate crash happened and I lost everything as many others did during this time. 

With nothing to show but a bankrupcy on my record, I moved to Las Vegas to start fresh in an industry that had nothing to do with real estate. Little by little I started to save up a lot of my money while renting being a renter, then in 2010 I got back into real estate and bought underappreciated two bedrooms two bath condo for 36K, yes, that cheap. There was so much inventory during that time from the collapse anyone who had capital and was looking to buy you were able to get properties pennies on the dollar. I put some money into it to bring it back to life all while living there, then I repeated these steps three more times since then building up a decent rental portfolio.