• Rental Property Investor
  • Seal Beach, CA
Votes |
100 Rentals, Success Or Fraud?

Josh Miller
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Seal Beach, CA
Posted Aug 15 2019, 02:23

Not sure how we end up where we do, but in 2009 I found myself firmly on my way to shaking hands with the ‘American Dream’. My parents were so proud, I was a college grad and working as an engineer for Chevron. Tasked with simplifying complex data, I spent the next 9 years working crazy hours for the company. Like all the other little worker-bees around me, I thought working my *** off would make me “successful”. And it did, well sort of. Along came pay raises and promotions, awards and acclamations, but none of it managed to satisfy the ‘success’ I had imagined.

One rainy day in 2016, I was busy at my desk when something snapped with the sound of logic breaking and falling into place all at once. When the ringing faded, gone was the droning of office noises, of progress reports, and quarterly goals. In truth, I couldn’t even hear my own thoughts. I looked around at the buzz of suites dancing their office lingo, and realized that sweating away the next 30 years for a corporation was never going to bring true success. So, while still working my 9-5, I began to fill my evenings and weekends in the pursuit of real estate.

Being a data geek, I had a plan. A plan so ingeniously simple it couldn't fail. I would use ‘big data' to find a new spin on an age old industry and give me an edge over the competition. How hard could it be? Very hard, as it turned out. It took a lot of research and a bit of luck, but I eventually landed on two seperate words that changed everything: wholetailing (purchasing a property off market at a discount in order to sell it as-is on the market/MLS) and PPC (paid advertising on sites like Google). True, there was nothing new or magical about either, but that suited me just fine. The goal wasn't to reinvent the wheel, only improve on it. And that's exactly what I did.