Votes |
Why it's fine that your first deal doesn't cashflow that much

Charles H.
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Huntsville, AL
Posted Nov 28 2019, 13:55

Hello guys,

I have been a BP follower and pro member for years. I feel I should share my story as it may help people who are stuck like I was.

Since 2016, I was into buying real estate for investment purposes. I was seduced by the cashflow apartments multifamily thingy that I learnt from good old Grant Cardone (my views on him has changed since, but I appreciate that he opened my mind at the beginning). But until April 2019, I had done NO move because no deal made sense. I was also stuck in the analysis paralysis.

And then, come march 2019, I just said "F*ck it" and I looked at a very good area of Jacksonville FL (I wanted to buy in Jacksonville for its growth etc) and I found a decent townhouse for 179000. For many years, I had built a decent amount of cash on my savings so I bought it cash. Got it. Rented it for $1400 within a week. HOA was $180 covering roof etc. Property management was 10%. Then I decided I should cashout refinance it a few months after.

The experience of being an actual owner/landlord changed everything (even though i had experience in rental property since 2003 via my parents). I do the loan, and at the same time, I see a 1500 sqft house close to my job in GA, in a great area. It looked unappealing (old carpet, old paint etc). I made an offer and got it! I was literally doing 2 loans within the same month and the credit score saw only one. I ended up doing all the floors myself, and handled the project by hiring contractors for tiles and paint. Lots of sweat equity on this one. Purchase price was 173000 (with a new AC at closing for free). Comparable next to the house: 200k! Rented within a month for 1500$. Cashflowing 350$ after all expenses.