Massive Goals for 2020!

16 Replies

I feel like I am walking into a confessional box, forgive me BP for I have sinned, it has been a year or so since I was active on the forums.. :) 

Anyway, I have been extremely busy for the past year with many aspects of life (investing, expanding businesses, family life, working), but one of my many goals for 2020 is to be more active on bigger pockets, where the majority of my investing journey and education began 5 years ago. For those of you I have not connected with, my name is Joe Cornwell and I am a real estate (buy/hold) investor in Cincinnati, Ohio. I am also a real estate agent, I own a construction company, and a soon to be "retired" police officer at the age of 29. Meaning, I will be leaving my full time career of the last 8 years to focus solely on my investing and businesses. I currently have 16 apartments over 4 properties, and I am under contract on two more properties, an additional 24 units. My goal is to have $5000/mo in passive rental income by year end, so I still have work to do. I will likely need another 20-30 units by year end to accomplish this after they are all renovated, rented, and stabilized. I am also working on doubling my construction business in terms of manpower as well as volume/profit. Lastly, I am in the process of getting my brokers license so I can perform property management services for my clients in addition to my own portfolio. As the title says, I have massive goals for 2020, but I am confident I will succeed in these endeavors. 

As for my background, I have been investing for 3 years now, but educating myself and saving cash to invest for almost 5 years. I have had my real estate license for almost 4 years, and up to this point I have used all of my additional income from my agent business and construction business to invest in multifamily real estate. As I shift from my law enforcement career, I will begin using some of my income sources to pay bills, travel, etc.