• SFR Investor
  • Yorba Linda, CA
Votes |
My First Deal!

Andrew Shell
  • SFR Investor
  • Yorba Linda, CA
Posted Feb 1 2013, 10:49

Hey all, I've been studying real estate for about 2 years and just finally was able to put together my first deal. I found a nice townhouse in Flagstaff, AZ about a mile off off the NAU campus. I know personally that these townhomes are in high demand for renters because all of the college students like to congregate to that area. I lived in one of these properties myself when I went to school there and talked to our landlord about the ups and downs of the tiny market.

Although renting to college students may end up being a little bit of a headache, there are also huge upsides to the high demand. Plus, I hired a property manager to take care of the nuances, since I don't live in AZ now. Because the market is so backwards, after paying the mortgage, insurance, HOA, management fees and taxes we should be left with a $950 cash flow. I ended up doing a short sale and bought the property for $168,000 and got a second appraisal and it rang in at $190,000. Although we won't be selling or refinancing right away, I'm glad the appraisers opinion is that I got the property for less than what he believes it is worth. It's just a little bit of a pick-me-up.

We are also adding a wall/bathroom to the upstairs bonus room, which should increase our rents by $500 a month. In this market, each bedroom is worth around $400-500/month and by turning a bonus room into a bedroom, we will capitalize on this fact.