• Investor
  • Beaverton, OR
Votes |
Financing a large park

Joseph Anthony
  • Investor
  • Beaverton, OR
Posted Mar 24 2017, 21:14

Today I heard from a broker they will have a $4.9MM mobile home park going on the market in the next few weeks. She would have the details of the park in a few days after the appraisal is completed. She noted 200 spaces, space rent is $395-475 with double wide, single wide, and RV spaces. Owner probably willing to carry 20%. Oregon property taxes would be expected to be about $74,000 per year. Water/Sewer are covered by the tenants, garbage by the landlord. 100% occupancy (which is reasonable for the location of the park.)

I was a credit analyst for years and was the primary analyst on a few participating loans. I have also seen many of the difficulties that companies and individuals have had getting large loans. This is going to be the biggest hurdle that I have to overcome with this place. I have great connections but was always the guy behind the relationship manager crunching the numbers and have never been the one begging for the loan. This might be a little easier if this fell within the scope of a guaranteed SBA or USDA loan, but it does not because of the size, so far as I know.

I currently own a 4 unit property which has given me experience in owning and managing. I am a CPA candidate and will start taking the exams after we issue the comprehensive annual financial statements this year. My wife, who is also an accountant, would actively manage the properties while I would continue to work. I am prepared to handle the management, especially the books and financials. I also have family and friends who are good licensed and bonded contractors and handy people for any issues that would arise. 

This property is especially appealing considering the high growth prices in Portland because of the growth in the area and limited supply of housing. I think rent is able to be raised immediately on all units too.

My questions: