User Stats

Votes
Gordon Park
Votes |
Newish Investor, Looking to start Mobile Home Park

Gordon Park
Posted Sep 11 2019, 15:39

Hi all,

I am new to BP. I would love to get feedback as I am a newish investor. I have a couple of real estate deals with multi-unit affordable housing.  However, I am looking to start a mobile home park from the ground up which I have not done before.  I am looking to provide rent to own mobile homes.  I am in the north texas area and have the land under contract.

I read some of the posts about the challenges and some posts going as far as to say it is a terrible idea.  I'm not necessarily convinced i should change plans.

Thanks for additional advice as I engage design engineers, contractors, and mobile home wholesalers.

Thanks

User Stats

Votes
Jonathan Nixon
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL
Votes |
  • Fort Lauderdale, FL
Replied Sep 11 2019, 20:38

A solid resource to check out is MHPIRL (Mobile Home Parks In Real Life) podcast if you have had 0 exposure to the business. I would also try and a find a few parks in the region to try and network with the owners. Go a few towns over if you're concerned about upsetting local competition. Ask them what it is like for them. Also.. double triple check your zoning/city ordinances. Some places only allow 1-2 MH per acre (I'm not familiar with your market at all though).

At a minimum you're going to need to know what your market can fetch for lot rents, cost to build your spaces, and what utilities are going to be readily available to you. Those can vary widely regionally. That will tell you if it's worth your time pretty quickly.

User Stats

Votes
Gordon Park
Votes |
Replied Sep 12 2019, 10:22

Thanks Jonathan, I appreciate the information

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes